March 17, 2017

The New College Foundation will again award the Lula White Johnson Distinguished Teaching Award memorializing Mrs. Johnson.  Mrs. Johnson (1918-1990) taught at Albert Harris High School for many years prior to her appointment as English Department Chair at Martinsville High School.  Many former students link her talent and compassion as a teacher directly to their decision to enroll in college as well as their success in the college classroom.

This fund was initiated by Imogene and Isadore Draper, former students of Mrs. Johnson, who led the successful fundraising effort on behalf of NCF.

The award will include $1,000, an engraved plaque, and a public forum (within one year) at which time the recipient will present an educational topic of his/her choice.  Previous recipients of the award have been:

  • 2012 Kimberly Fatten, professor of Accounting at Virginia Commonwealth University
  • 2013 Dr. Patricia Grant, professor of Criminal Justice at Virginia Commonwealth University
  • 2014 Dr. Coray Davis, professor of Engineering Technology at Virginia State University
  • 2015 Janie Brazier, professor of Social Work at Longwood University
  • 2016 Dr. David Martin, professor of Educational Leadership at James Madison University


Please consider nominating a faculty member who is intellectually stimulating, encourages the pursuit of higher education and is actively involved in enriching the lives of others through civic engagement and community service.

** Nominations are due to Deborah Kaufman at New College Foundation by April 14, 2017.  


Click here to download the nomination form!